Facts

The reality that we live in

We are in an urgent emergency. Despite Corona, the trend is continuous.
This cannot be: emissions continue to rise! [1]

None of the parties in parliament have a plan that takes these developments seriously. [2] They have been lying to us for years! They give us empty green promises for the coming decades while counting on a growing economy that destroys our climate and biodiversity. [3]

We do not have any damn time left!
According to a leaked report of the third working group of the IPCC, we have three more years left of business as usual, until we will reach a global heating of two degrees Celsius. [4]

A world hotter by two degrees already means incredible human suffering, mass refugee movements of billions of people, harvest shortfalls and wars on water and food. Agriculture will simply produce less and less food and we are fearing famines of never seen before extent.
The climate collapse means radical weather conditions, breakdowns of ecosystems as well as the gradual loss of all that we have (freedom, peace, water, food, air).

There is no going back!
Another heating up hold the immense risk of a galloping climate change that cannot be limited by human influence. This means a much hotter world by far. 4 degrees, 5 degrees, 6 degrees. Science calls it the "Hothouse Earth" [5]. We are now witnessing the last moments in which we can still leave this path.

This is mass murder..
In a 4-5 degrees hotter world, which we will reach this very century according to the current state, only an estimated 1-2 billion people will find a place - This means the biggest mass extinction of human history [6].

This is no destiny, this is murder. [7] The super rich protect a foul system that causes the climate catastrophe.
Because knowledge about the climate catastrophe and its consequences has been well-known for decades now, but company leaders and politicians continued to exploit and destroy - out of greed and racist apathy towards the ones affected - we should not talk about climate change as something that happens, but as something that is made., reden.

This is about you too!
Upholding this system destroys the climate and thus kills us.
It is taking away the livelihoods of billions of people and it will send off the young generation and the following generations into foreseeable deadly consequences of corrupt weather and destroyed agriculture. With this kind of future in mind, we are wondering: What do we have to loose now, if we will not stop it?

We have the power!!
We have a democratic understanding of power. We know that profound systemic changes are needed to stop the climate catastrophe. Recent history shows that such changes - like the Civil Rights Movement in the US, women's vote or the fall of the Berlin Wall - need to be fought for outside of parliaments.

Looking at recent history, we see a clear picture: non-violent civil resistance offers the most promising strategies for direct and profound changes of the status quo for the better.

In times like these, where political and economic ways and acts become even more deadly, it is our moral obligation to stand up against them. So we are joining the call to action by Christiana Figueres, mother of the Paris climate agreement. [8]

“Civil disobedience is not only a moral choice, it is also the most powerful way of shaping world politics.”

Christiana Figueres, former UN Climate Chief

The elections

On September 26th, there will be parliamentary elections in Germany.

Climate justice is not something you can vote for, but climate destruction is!
All [big parliamentary] parties are missing Germany's [necessary paths] by a lot. Even the election programs that are going the furthest (Linke and Grüne) have [...] gaps when it comes to necessary measures. To the analysis of the electoral programs (in German).

In the elections, all big parties give bullshit-promises when it comes to the climate catastrophe and our survival. We cannot come even closely to solving the emergency with these elections. It is time for non-violent civil disobedience. It is time for everyone to take brave steps.

There is no future without courage.

What we want to change

We are entering indefinite huger strike with the following two demands:

  1. a live-broadcasted two-hour conversation about the murder of the young generation between four of the hunger strikers and the chancellor-candidates Armin Laschet, Annalena Baerbock and Olaf Scholz.
  2. the promise to establish a binding and representative citizen's council that will have to include the change to 100% constructive agriculture amongst other topics.

We need global system changes - on a great deal of different levels. From our point of view, the citizen's council can be a first setting of the course.

Sources/references

[1] https://taz.de/Hoeherer-C02-Ausstoss-als-vor-2020/!5791432&s=emissionen/

[2] Analysis of the election programs August 2021: Konzeptwerk neue Ökonomie (text in german) https://t.co/KytFnz8zcq?amp=1

[3] “Biodiversity policy beyond economic growth” https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/32999687/

[4] See publications on the Scientist Rebellion's webpages:

[5] Trajectories of the Earth in the Anthropocene”
https://www.pnas.org/content/pnas/115/33/8252.full.pdf

Graphic from the paper “Trajectories of the Earth in the Anthropocene”

[6] Quote from Johan Rockström, Potsdamer Institut für Klimafolgenforschung: "“It’s difficult to see how we could accommodate eight billion people or maybe even half of that,” he says. “There will be a rich minority of people who survive with modern lifestyles, no doubt, but it will be a turbulent, conflict-ridden world.” Source

[7] A murderer is someone who [...] kills a person [...] out of greed.
https://dejure.org/gesetze/StGB/211.html


[8] https://youtu.be/1wN9ppTnC0k

Fakten

Die Realität in der wir leben

Wir befinden uns in einem unmittelbaren Notfall. Der Trend ist trotz Corona ungebrochen.
Das kann doch nicht wahr sein: Die Emissionen steigen und steigen immer noch! [1]

Keine der Parteien im Bundestag hat einen Plan, der diese Entwicklung ernst nimmt. [2] Sie verarschen uns seit Jahren! Sie geben uns grüne Lippenbekenntnisse für die nächsten Jahrzehnte und setzen auf eine wachsende Wirtschaft, die unser Klima und unsere Biodiversität zugrunde richtet. [3]

Wir haben keine verdammte Zeit mehr!
Nach einem geleakten Bericht der dritten Arbeitsgruppe des Weltklimarat IPCC verbleiben noch 3 Jahre Weiter-So, bis wir eine globale Erhitzung von 2 Grad festsetzen. [4]

Schon eine 2 Grad heißere Welt bedeutet unvorstellbares menschliches Leid, Massenflucht von Milliarden Menschen, Ernteausfälle und Kriege um Wasser und Essen. Die Landwirtschaft wird einfach immer weniger Essen erbringen können, wir befürchten Hungersnöte nie dagewesenen Ausmaßes.
Der Klimazusammenbruch bedeutet, dass das Wetter verrückt spielt, die Ökosysteme kollabieren und den graduellen Verlust von allem, was wir haben (Freiheit, Frieden, Wasser, Essen, Luft).

Es gibt dann kein Zurück!
Eine weitere Erhitzung beinhaltet das immense Risiko eines galoppierenden Klimawandels, der nicht mehr durch menschlichen Einfluss begrenzt werden kann und eine noch weitaus heißere Welt bedeutet. 4 Grad, 5 Grad, 6 Grad. Die Wissenschaft nennt das die “Hothouse Earth” [5]. Wir erleben jetzt gerade die letzten Momente, in den wir diesen Pfad noch verlassen können.

Das ist Massenmord..
Auf einer 4-5 Grad heißeren Welt, die wir nach momentanem Stand noch in diesem Jahrhundert erreichen, könnten Schätzungen zufolge nur ein 1-2 Milliarden Menschen Platz finden – Das bedeutet das größte Massensterben der Menschheitsgeschichte. [6]

Das ist kein Schicksal, das ist Mord. [7] Die Superreichen beschützen ein krankes System, welches den Klimakollaps verursacht.
Weil die Erkenntnisse um die Klimakatastrophe und ihre Folgen seit Jahrzehnten bekannt sind, aber Konzernchefs und Regierungsvertreter*innen den ökonomischen Ausbeutungs- und Zerstörungskurs immer weiter gesteigert haben und steigern – aus Habgier und in einer rassistischen Gleichgültigkeit gegenüber denen, die bereits betroffen sind – sollten wir von dem Klimawandel nicht als etwas was passiert, sondern als etwas was gemacht wird, reden.

Du bist betroffen!
Das Aufrechterhalten dieses Systems zerstört das Klima und bringt uns daher um.
Es nimmt Milliarden Menschen die Lebensgrundlage und wird die junge Generation ebenso wie alle Generationen nach ihr absehbar in die tödlichen Folgen von kaputtem Wetter und zerstörter Landwirtschaft schicken. Mit dieser Zukunft im Blick fragen wir uns: Was haben wir jetzt schon zu verlieren, wenn wir das nicht aufhalten?

Wir haben die Macht!
Wir haben ein demokratisches Machtverständnis. Wir wissen, dass es tiefgreifende systematische Veränderungen braucht, um die Klimakatastrophe zu verhindern. Die jüngere Geschichte zeigt, dass solche Veränderungen – von Bürgerrechten in den USA über das Frauenwahlrecht bis zum Fall der Deutschen Mauer – außerhalb der Parlamente erstritten werden müssen.

Mit Blick auf die jüngere Geschichte zeichnet sich ein klares Bild: Gewaltfreier ziviler Widerstand stellt die vielversprechenste Strategie zur schnellen und tiefgreifenden Veränderung der Verhältnisse zum Positiven dar…

In Zeiten, in denen die politischen und wirtschaftlichen Spielregeln tödlich werden, ist es unsere moralischen Pflicht, uns diesen zu widersetzen. Damit schließen wir uns dem Aufruf von Christiana Figueres, der Mutter des Pariser Klimaabkommens an. [8]

“Civil disobedience is not only a moral choice, it is also the most powerful way of shaping world politics.”

Christiana Figueres, former UN Climate Chief

Zur Bundestagswahl

Am 26.09. wird in der Bundesrepublik Deutschland gewählt…

Klimagerechtigkeit ist nicht wählbar, Klimazerstörung hingegen schon!
Alle [großen demokratischen] Parteien verfehlen Deutschland [notwendige Pfade] um ein Vielfaches. Auch die weitgehendsten Wahlprogramme von Linke und Grünen haben […] Leerstellen, was die notwendigen Maßnahmen angeht. Zur Wahlprogrammanalyse

Bei der Bundestagswahl treten alle großen Parteien was die Klimakatastrophe (=unser Überleben) angeht mit Bullshit-Versprechen auf. Wir können den Notfall durch Wahlen also nicht ansatzweise lösen. Es ist Zeit für gewaltfreien zivilen Widerstand. Es ist Zeit, dass jede und jeder einen mutigen Schritt geht.

There is no future without courage.

Was wir ändern wollen

Wir treten in den unbefristeten Hungerstreik mit 2 Forderungen:

  1. ein live-übertragenes 2h Gespräch von vier Menschen des Hungerstreiks mit den Kanzlerkandidat:innen Armin Laschet, Annalena Baerbock und Olaf Scholz über den Mord an der jungen Generation.
  2. das Versprechen in der nächsten Regierung einen verbindlichen und repräsentativen Bürger:innenrat einzuberufen in dem unter anderem die Umstellung auf 100% aufbauende Landwirtschaft thematisiert werden muss.

Wir brauchen einen globalen Systemwandel – auf ganzen vielen Ebenen. Der Bürger*innenrat kann aus unserer Wahrnehmung die erste Weichenstellung sein.

Quellen/Verweise

[1] https://taz.de/Hoeherer-C02-Ausstoss-als-vor-2020/!5791432&s=emissionen/

[2] Wahlprogrammanalyse August 2021: Konzeptwerk neue Ökonomie https://t.co/KytFnz8zcq?amp=1

[3] “Biodiversity policy beyond economic growth” https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/32999687/

[4] Siehe Vorveröffentlichungen auf den Seiten der Scientist Rebellion:

[5] Trajectories of the Earth in the Anthropocene”
https://www.pnas.org/content/pnas/115/33/8252.full.pdf

Abbildung aus dem Paper “Trajectories of the Earth in the Anthropocene”

[6] Zitat nach Johan Rockström, Potsdamer Institut für Klimafolgenforschung: “[Es ist] schwer zu sehen, wie wir eine Milliarde Menschen oder sogar die Hälfte davon unterbringen können… Es wird eine reiche Minderheit von Menschen geben, die mit modernen Lebensstilen überleben, ohne Zweifel, aber es wird eine turbulente, konfliktgeladene Welt sein.“ Quelle

[7] Mörder ist, wer […] aus Habgier […] einen Menschen tötet.
https://dejure.org/gesetze/StGB/211.html


[8] https://youtu.be/1wN9ppTnC0k